Austin is the seat of Travis County. Homeowners in Travis County get $100,000 general homestead exemption from their school district. Travis County also provides a 20% homestead exemption. The City of Austin provides a 20% exemption on your net appraised value. Travis County healthcare district provides a 20% exemption. Other taxing units in the county can offer a minimum of $5,000 exemption, upto 20%.
If your ISD tax rate is 1.3%, then you save $520 on school district taxes. Similar savings are available from other taxing units.
In addition, if you are over 65 years of age or disabled, you get an extra $10,000 off i.e, your general homestead exemption will be $50,000. Other taxing units may also offer you specific exemptions. You can check your applicable exemptions on Travis County Appraisal District's property search page. Scroll to the
"Exemptions and Jurisdictions" section. Here is an example:
You can apply for your homestead exemption online at the Travis CAD Homestead Exemption page. Applying for your HS exemption is free and easy. Do not pay anyone to get your homestead exemption! Beware of homestead exemption scams!
If the previous homeowner didn't have an exemption on that property, you may be able to claim a pro-rated homestead exemption
In most cases, you should hear back within 90 days if your homestead exemption application was approved or if the Chief Appraiser seeks additional documents.
You need to submit your Texas Driver's License or a state issued ID with the address reflecting the property you are applying exemption for.
Yes, Travis County homestead exemption form is online at the Travis CAD Homestead Exemption page. Applying online is preferable compared to the paper application. Online application makes it easier for the appraisal district to track and process. It is convenient for you as well.
Travis county homestead exemption applications are due by April 30th each year. Beginning Jan 1st 2022, you can apply for your homestead exemption as soon as you move in and get your Texas DL updated. In case you forgot to apply, you can claim homestead exemption retroactively for upto 2 years
You can check your homestead exemption status on Travis County appraisal district's website. Search for your property and open your property details page. You should see your homestead exemption status on the property details page. Here is an example:
Articles presented here are for general information and education only. It is provided as a courtesy to the general public. SQD Taxtech LLC does not warrant that it is accurate or complete. Opinions expressed and estimates or projections given are those of the authors or persons quoted as of the date of the article with no obligation to update or notify of inaccuracy or change. This article may not be reproduced, distributed or further published by any person without the written consent of SQD Taxtech LLC. Please cite source when quoting.
SQD Taxtech LLC, its managed affiliates and subsidiaries, as a matter of policy, do not give tax, accounting, regulatory or legal advice. Rules in the areas of law, tax, and accounting are subject to change and open to varying interpretations. You should consult with your other advisors on the tax, accounting and legal implications of actions you may take based on any strategies presented, taking into account your own particular circumstances.